Gavan Reilly

thinking out loud

Seating plan for Dáil Éireann

with 7 comments

Update, January 25, 2011: This post has now been superseded by a similar site I’ve built elsewhere, called Who Sits Where?, and which can be found at

The post below links to the seating as of December 2, 2010, to account for the new seating arrangements on the opposition benches following the election of Pearse Doherty. This arrangement was superseded on January 25, 2011, when the Green Party moved to the opposition benches.


After watching a few electronic votes in the Dáil last week and being a little stumped as to why certain dots in the middle of the opposition half of the chamber were consistently showing up in green and not red, I went looking around for a copy of the Dáil’s seating plan.

I wasn’t able to find one anywhere online so emailed the clerk of the Dáil’s office looking to see if they could help; I got an email back this morning from Gina Long in the Clerk’s office (thanks, Gina) with a copy of the seating plan, and a list of who sits in which seat.

Given the amount of people who were keen to get a hold of  a copy of this when I went looking around on Twitter last week I’m throwing up the copy here for public reference. The chart and accompanying lists can be referenced when looking at the electronic voting display on Dáil broadcasts.

The seating plan was supplied in .dwg format so I’m uploading a .jpg copy here for the sake of easy access; the list of seats comes in two formats, one sorted by seat number and the other sorted by each TD’s surname in alphabetical order.

Written by Gav

July 5th, 2010 at 6:53 pm

7 Responses to 'Seating plan for Dáil Éireann'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Seating plan for Dáil Éireann'. Comments are Gravatar enabled.

  1. Wouldn’t you think they’d have left that whole electronic voting go when Martin Cullen stepped down…

    Rob Hartnett

    8 Jul 10 at 2:03 pm

  2. Very Interesting…

    Please update when the new arrangements are known.



    28 Feb 11 at 2:52 pm

  3. Hi there – the new arrangements won’t be secured until March 9 or 10, but I’ll post the chart here and on from then.


    28 Feb 11 at 2:54 pm

  4. What is the difference between an “empty seat” and an “unused seat”?


    21 Mar 11 at 11:00 pm

  5. Martin – An empty seat is one that is ordinarily used by a TD, but which currently doesn’t have a TD assigned to it. (The seat that would have been used by Martin Cullen before his resignation, for example, became an ’empty seat’ after he stepped down as a TD.)

    An unused seat is one that simply isn’t (typically) used for electronic voting. For example, seat A1, the one in front of the Taoiseach: nobody is assigned to this seat for voting, ever.


    21 Mar 11 at 11:33 pm

  6. Is there an equivalent plan for the Seanad?

    Gabriel Beecham

    27 Mar 11 at 8:31 pm

  7. Gabriel – I’ve asked many times, but to no avail. Either way, the question is moot until the new Seanad convenes for the first time in mid-May.


    27 Mar 11 at 8:40 pm

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.